The Elephant in the Room is Cancer. Tea is the Relief Conversation Provides.

Using Books to Talk to Kids About Cancer

Using Books to Talk to Kids About Cancer

Register here

Wednesday, May 15 @ 4pm PT/5pm MT/6pm CT/7pm ET

with Gilda’s Club Madison

Research shows that one of the best ways for kids to process new information is to read them children’s books. There are more and more books being published for kids of all ages about cancer, separation, big feelings, death and grief. In our work with families facing cancer, parents tell us  these books give them the words that are hard to find; illustrations normalize common experiences like hair loss and fatigue.  This presentation will delve into the many ways you can use books, beyond just reading them front to back, to help children make connections to their own family with cancer. Learn how to ask questions that will engage children in conversations. See simple, creative art projects based on the books that will help your child to process their feelings. Hear about play and movement activities that will get you and your child connecting. See how far you can take these books!  

The event is finished.

Date

May 15 2024
Expired!

Time

7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Local Time

  • Timezone: America/New_York
  • Date: May 15 2024
  • Time: 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Bright Spot Network

Organizer

Bright Spot Network
Website
https://www.brightspotnetwork.org/

Other Organizers

Gilda's Club of Madison
Gilda's Club of Madison
Website
https://www.gildasclubmadison.org/
advertisement
advertisement

Join the Conversation!

Leave a comment below. Remember to keep it positive!